The Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church

The Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church is one of the Oriental Orthodox Church in Ethiopia. In 1950, the Ethiopian Church was separated from Coptic Church of Egypt.  After the independence the Church also known as Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church. (‘Tewahedo’ means comparable to the neighboring Arab Tawheed "unity" and it refers to the union of two natures in Christ.) The Church was founded by Philip the Evangelist. The liturgical language is Ge'ez. But according to the Greek historian Rufinus of Aquileia, the origins of the Ethiopian Church by two brothers, Frumentius and Aidesios. The Ethiopian Orthodox Church and Coptic Orthodox church were reached an agreement on 13 July 1948. That agreement led to autocephaly for the Ethiopian Orthodox Church. After the death of Abuna Qerellos (The 110th and last Coptic Archbishop of Ethiopia) in 1950, Basilios became the head of the Ethiopian Church, with the authority to nominate Archbishops and Bishops. The Cyril VI, the Coptic Pope of Alexandria and Patriarch of All Africa was consecrated new Patriarch Basilios, in1959. Balios as the first Patriarch of Ethiopian Orthodox Church. After the death of Patriarch Basilios, Tewophilos became the Patriarch of Ethiopian Orthodox Church. But unfortunately the Patriarch Tewophilos was arrested by Government in 1976 and executed in 1979. Later H. H. Takla Haymanot became the Patriarch of Ethiopian Church. In 1988, H. H. Merkorios became the Patriarch. Patriarch Paulose is the present Patriarch of the Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church.

Philip the Evangelist , Frumentius
Patriarch H. H. Paulose
Adis Ababa
Sudan, Nigeria, Djibouti, South Africa, Kenya, Latin America, Jerusalem, Europe, Canada, United States, Caribbean, Australia.
Liturgical Language

1 comment:

Attention please, all spam comments will be deleted promptly. Please respect each others views and opinions. Do not post Web links..